(310) 782-4987

Call Us Now

Bilateral Visa Waiver Agreements Australia Netherlands

Bilateral visa-free agreements allow certain non-EU passport holders to stay in the Schengen area without a visa beyond the 90-day border. But what is a bilateral agreement and how can travelers benefit from an extended visa-free stay in Europe? “The use of these visa waiver agreements in combination with the visa-free Schengen regimes is complex. Each country applies the visa waiver agreements in its own way. In most countries, you must comply with the Visa Waiver Agreement at the end of your trip to the Schengen area. Contact the embassy or consulate of the respective country for more details on how they apply the visa waiver agreements. “That`s where it gets interesting. Before the Schengen Agreement, states had their own legislation and bilateral agreements with other nations. After the signing of the Schengen Agreement, many of these earlier agreements became invalid, but some states never repealed their previous agreements. Well, here`s the cool part, it`s an article of the Schengen agreement: New Zealand has bilateral agreements with 18 Schengen and Schengen associated countries. In addition, the Australian and Dutch governments have reached an agreement stipulating that Australian passport holders can stay in the Netherlands for an additional 90 days without a visa after visiting other Schengen states. However, these additional 90 days are only valid/applicable if the Netherlands is the last Schengen state to be visited. What many travelers do not know is that they have the option to stay visa-free in some European countries for more than 3 months according to the EU`s bilateral agreements.

The ETIAS visa waiver for Europe will be introduced at the end of 2022. To cross an external border of the Schengen area, citizens of non-European visa-exempt countries must apply for ETIAS. Twelve countries have bilateral agreements with Australia. One that may be useful for many travelers is the bilateral visa waiver agreement between Australia and Germany. This regulation allows Australians with any passport to apply for a stay in Germany for 3 months, regardless of the time they have already spent in the Schengen area. In accordance with Article 60 of Regulation (EU) 2017/2226, visa-exempt third-country nationals may remain in the Schengen area for more than 90 days in a period of 180 days only in exceptional circumstances or on the basis of a bilateral agreement. Norway: Australians who have skilled worker qualifications are allowed to stay in the country for up to 6 months without a visa to seek employment as a skilled worker or skilled worker, provided they register with the police within 3 months of arriving in Norway. Netherlands: Australians are not required to obtain a visa for a longer stay of up to 90 days. The European Union plans to introduce a new entry/exit system at the external borders in 2020.

The Entry/Exit System will be a central database covering all entries and exits to and from the Schengen area. Therefore, it becomes impossible to get away with overtaking. The fact is that bilateral agreements older than the Schengen agreement would turn the new entry/exit system into a royal mess. To solve this problem, the Council of the European Union is in the process of amending Article 20(2) as follows: these bilateral agreements are no longer required by us after Krys has received Polish citizenship and a Polish passport. France offers a one-year long-term visa for tourists. You can only apply for this visa from your home country. There are many documents that you need to submit with your application, which can be painful. Although you are eligible to stay in France for a year, you will not be able to work, you will need proof of accommodation in France and will not technically be allowed to enter another Schengen country. Following the follow-up to the investigation into Australia`s bilateral agreements on visa waiver in the Schengen area, here is the answer we received from the Dutch Embassy in Canberra. Visa-free nationals are allowed to spend 90 days out of 180 in Schengen. A handful of countries (including Canada and New Zealand) have bilateral working holiday visa agreements with the Schengen states.

With a working holiday visa, you can stay in Schengen for up to a year. The only downside is that you have to apply for this visa from your home country. My advice is, even if you don`t plan to work, get one of these visas before you leave, and it will definitely be used if you plan to stay in Schengen for more than 90 days. It is recommended to print the relevant information from this website and take it with you so that you can show the border guards/customs the information about bilateral agreements. “Under the EU`s visa liberalisation policy and this specific visa waiver agreement, the total duration of an Australian citizen in Europe is 6 months: 3 months anywhere in the Schengen area, followed by 3 months only in Germany. Foreign visitors continue to enjoy visa-free privileges, but travel authorization is a legal entry requirement. With ETIAS, travelers can stay in the Schengen area for up to 3 months, the same authorization applies to the entire Schengen area, which means that they are free to move from one country to another. Once the Schengen Entry/Exit System is operational, the EU Member State authorities responsible for a bilateral agreement update travellers` records with the relevant entry and exit dates. At the end of the period of validity of the ETIAS, third-country nationals may continue to apply for a longer stay in a country where a bilateral visa waiver agreement has been concluded. Since the ETIAS expires after 90 days, foreigners must stay in the respective country beyond this border. .